Feminist ally

Why are you facebook still friends with a known abuser?
Why. are youstill

friends (?!)

with a known abuser

Feminist ally?

How can you keep that company and still look me in the eye? To paraphrase another woman who had her consent abused: The shame of it all should crush you.

I don’t want to see ghost conversations on social media. I shouldn’t have to. I don’t want to walk with fists clenched, in fear and anger, when I visit my adopted home town. I shouldn’t have to. I don’t want to be friends with friends of my enemy. I don’t want that for myself and for the – dozens – of other women who he made/makes/will make unsafe.

We shouldn’t fucking have to.

‘Like’

In my dreams he’s security at a gig, he floats passed iron railings at the beach, he slaps me and no one does a thing. I scream, I cry, I shout and punch and kick and spit. But no one does a thing.

I feel betrayed. I feel humiliated. I feel alone.

But at least, in my dreams, my stand-aside friends don’t make excuses for themselves, or for him.

I hope that this is the last thing I ever have to write to remind you.

Leave a comment